Sensuously and French, five pieces for woodwind and piano by four French composers from different musical eras but with one thing in common - the sense of the playful.

Saint Saëns, the lyric virtuoso, who lived under the top of the romantic era, shows his mischievous side to us in his oboe- and bassoon sonata. Poulenc, the self-willed modernist, is dreamy cinematic in his Trio for oboe, bassoon and piano. And Duteilleux, the acclaimed contemporary composer who in his works has actively flocked away from the graceful, finds beauty where no one else has been looking in the Sonata for oboe and piano. In addition, an eight-minute, tickling "interruption": Interférence by Roger Boutry - a contemporary french stylish with a flair for the unexpected.  

1048 Live à la Française

  • Camille Saint-Saëns: Sonata for oboe and piano            
     1    Andantino            
     2     ad libitum; Allegretto      
     3      Molto allegro          

    Camille Saint-Saëns: Sonata for bassoon and piano        
    4     Allegretto moderato         
    5     Allegro scherzando         
    6     Molto adagio; Allegro moderato         

    Henri Dutilleux: Sonata for oboe and piano            
    7    ARIA, grave          
    8    SCHERZO, vif          
    9    FINAL, assez allant        

    10  Roger Boutry: Interférences 1 for bassoon and piano        

    Francis Poulenc: Trio for piano, oboe and bassoon            
    11     PRESTO          
    12     ANDANTE         
    13     RONDO